ende
18. May 2021
Funding project for B.I.G. corporate investment

Next stage for Escarda and pesticide-free agriculture

Escarda is working on a solution for pesticide-free weed control using lasers. A joint project, funded by the BMWi, focuses on image acquisition and processing.

What would it be like if large-scale farming were possible without harmful herbicides, without small-scale manual labor? That’s what Escarda, one of our exciting corporate investments, is working on. Its concept is to use sophisticated imaging and intelligent data processing to identify and distinguish between crops and weeds. This data is used to control a laser that destroys the weeds in a targeted manner.

The funding from the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWi) will give the idea further momentum in a joint project with industry partners. Escarda is responsible for image capture and processing. The challenge: The system has to reliably decide between fruit and weeds in a matter of seconds while the robot moves across the field.

Sugarbeet is cultivated in the test field. These are not particularly assertive. The crop can be quickly displaced in the field by competition from weeds. Conventional farming therefore uses questionable herbicides, while organic farming uses hand plucking or hoeing machines. However, weeds that are too close to the crop cannot be removed in this way. Sugarbeet is therefore the ideal test object to explore Escarda’s new way of weed control.

Lumics is on board to answer questions about the optimal laser. The team is developing a turnkey laser system in the wavelength combination of 980/1470/1940nm according to requirements of the collaborative partner Laser Zentrum Hannover, who investigates the laser properties for weed control. The robustness of the laser system faces particular challenges. In the field, it is exposed to harsh conditions caused by dirt, moisture, heat and the vibration load of the agricultural machine.

We wish all those involved every success!

More about the project (German)

More about Escarda Technologies

With funding from the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWi), the idea of laser-assisted weed destruction is gaining further momentum.

ende
18. Mai 2021
Förderprojekt für B.I.G. Unternehmensbeteiligung

Nächste Etappe für Escarda und pestizidfreie Landwirtschaft

Escarda arbeitet an einer Lösung für pestizidfreie Unkrautbekämpfung mit Hilfe von Laser. In einem Verbundprojekt, gefördert durch das BMWi, geht es um die Bilderfassung und -verarbeitung.

Wie wäre es, wenn Ackerbau ohne schädliche Herbizide im großen Stil möglich wäre, ohne kleinteilige Handarbeit? Daran arbeitet Escarda, eine unserer spannenden Unternehmensbeteiligungen. Ihr Konzept: mit anspruchsvoller Bilderfassung und intelligenter Datenverarbeitung sollen Kulturpflanze und Unkraut erkannt und voneinander unterschieden werden. Mit diesen Daten wird ein Laser angesteuert, der das Unkraut gezielt verödet.

Mit der Förderung durch das Bundeswirtschaftsministerium (BMWi) bekommt die Idee in einem Verbundprojekt mit Branchenpartnern weiteren Schwung. Dabei übernimmt Escarda den Part der Bilderfassung und -verarbeitung. Die Herausforderung: Das System muss sekundenschnell und zuverlässig zwischen Frucht und Unkraut entscheiden, während der Roboter über das Feld fährt.

Geackert wird auf dem Versuchsfeld mit Zuckerrüben. Besonders durchsetzungsstark sind diese nicht. Die Feldfrucht lässt sich auf dem Feld schnell durch Konkurrenz von Unkräutern verdrängen. Im konventionellen Ackerbau kommen daher bedenkliche Herbizide zum Einsatz, im Ökoanbau wird per Hand gezupft oder mit Hackmaschinen gearbeitet. Unkräuter, die zu dicht an der Nutzpflanze sitzen, können damit allerdings nicht entfernt werden. Die Zuckerrübe ist also das ideale Versuchsobjekt, um Escardas neuen Weg der Unkrautbekämpfung zu erforschen.

Für die Fragen des optimalen Lasers ist Lumics mit an Bord. Das Team entwickelt nach Anforderungen des Verbundpartners Laser Zentrum Hannover ein Turnkey Lasersystem in der Wellenlängenkombination von 980/1470/1940nm, dessen Eigenschaften zur Unkrautbekämpfung vom Verbundpartner untersucht werden. Die Robustheit des Lasersystems wird dabei vor besondere Herausforderungen gestellt. Auf dem Feld ist er rauen Bedingungen durch Schmutz, Feuchtigkeit, Hitze und der Rüttelbelastung der Ackermaschine  ausgesetzt.

Wir wünschen allen Beteiligten viel Erfolg!

Mehr zum Projekt

Mehr zu Escarda Technologies

 

 

Mit der Förderung durch das Bundeswirtschaftsministerium (BMWi) bekommt die Idee der lasergestützen Unkrautvernichtung weiteren Schwung.